Home » Uncategorized » Diva Challenge #181: “Water”

Diva Challenge #181: “Water”

Wow, this has been a long week! I’m starting graduate school in 2 weeks, and we just had orientation! Also, my husband’s in Germany for work, so I’m “kitten-mommying” on my own for 11 days. Right now, they’re chasing each other all over the apartment, and I have to stop every 15 minutes to referee their play-wrestling. However, I did make the time to make 2 tiles for this week’s Diva Challenge.
I loved this week’s Diva Challenge, which was to create something inspired by water. I decided to play around with a technique of watercolor shading with Gelly roll pens. I felt like the shimmery colors of the metallic and Stardust pens were very “watery.”
In my first tile, I used tangles that remind me of water, or that seem in some way to be aquatic, in this case Aquafleur, Squid, and Quabog. When I finished and showed it to my husband, he said it looked like how water makes you feel, which I thought was a lovely way to describe it.

My first watery tile:

20140823-113755-41875765.jpg

In my second tile, I used Oke, which isn’t a tangle I immediately think of as watery, but when I shaded it with the dark green Gelly roll, and added Printemps as a background, it made me think of a fallen leaf floating on a pond or creek.

20140823-114219-42139226.jpg

I’ve been loving seeing all the other things people came up with for this challenge. Everyone’s been so creative, and it seems to have really encouraged people to experiment and try different techniques. I can’t wait to see next week’s challenge!

10 thoughts on “Diva Challenge #181: “Water”

  1. Nice tiles. There are so many ways to depict water. I have enjoyed looking at all the different variations. I do not know that I have ever used Quabog. You did a good job with it. I also like the touch of color. Like your use of Oke also.

Leave a Reply

